Skip to content

Eco-friendly Home Products Giveaway Extravaganza!!

May 19, 2010

CONTEST IS NOW CLOSED.

You may know that I used to do product review as His n’ Her Ecopinion with Drew Stone of AGS Custom Interiors.  We have a number of products leftover from the review days that need to be in the arms of wonderful users like you, so…

It’s time for a GIVEAWAY EXTRAVAGANZA!! WOOT WOO!  Click the images for more information on the product.  If you see something you like, scroll down for contest instructions!

NOTE:  This is for the Greater Seattle area only.

Vertical Skillet Rack Beech
Rack sits on your countertop or in your cabinet. Made from beechwood, a very common and sustainable wood in US forests.  Products are shipped in standard cardboard containers, with no staples, so they are easily recyclable.
I found another use for it – Book organizer for your end table!
Rabbit Air Purifier Minus A2
by Rabbit Air
Wall-mountable or use on the floor, ultra quiet, energy star certified, comes with remote control.  Great for germs, allergies, odors, toxins.
This baby retails new for a hefty sum.  Yours for FREE!!
Washington vs. Washington State Archival Print Posters
by Asgard Press
Printed on recycled paper with soy-based inks, this archival poster print can be framed for the retro sports enthusiast in your home.
Poster no longer in print so I used the calendar image here.  Looks the same, minus the calendar text in border.
Cordless phone Model LS6117  with caller ID
by Vtech
Has neat changeable handset graphics or you can create your own with their online tool!  Energy Star qualified.  Protects from identity theft with digital security.  Unfortunately, no speaker phone.
Small Peruvian Vase
by La Vida Verde
Sacred ceramic-making technique from artisans in Northern Peru.  Community is only 17 members large.

Enter to Win
If you see something you would like to win it, this is what you have to do:

  1. Leave a comment telling me what your biggest challenge in your home interiors is.
  2. If you can relate your challenge to your love life – how it might be hindering, repelling or even killing it, even better!
  3. Don’t forget to use a valid email where I can contact you!

For products that receive multiple interests, I will hold a random drawing.  All contestants will be added to my most awesome, and very infrequent mailing list.

Now, dish out your home interior issues!  This designer wants to know!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. carl jones permalink
    May 19, 2010 3:05 pm

    I like the artisan blue teardrop look vase. Is it biggie size?

    Like

  2. May 19, 2010 4:23 pm

    No, it is small…like 4 inches i think and will hold one or two floral stems, depending on size. Must leave comment about your space – see instructions above – to be entered! 🙂

    Like

  3. Alyson permalink
    May 22, 2010 11:09 pm

    I love love love the Swedish Designs plate rack! I so covet it.

    I have very big kitchen space issues – I live in a duplex. I am a renter with the small downstairs space. It’s a lovely house – built in the 1890’s, and the owners are a lovely couple that live upstairs and spend a lot of time organic gardening in the enormous backyard. My kitchen has windows on three sides as it is a sort of a tacked-on sunroom addition. It’s wonderful in so many ways. The kitchen looks out upon the greenery and deck and the scene of my beautiful three legged cat (she kicked cancer’s butt two years ago and still is the wandering friendly belle of the neighborhood) lounging on the deck. Alas though, the kitchen has NO DRAWERS OR CUPBOARDS! Not a single one.

    There is a small dishwasher, a four burner gas stove (also small), and a regular sized refrigerator – all which are lovely to find in a one bedroom apartment. The view and the appliances make you not realize how the kitchen seems so big because there is so little storage. Tere is one beautiful blue tile counter and open shelves below it – there is also one other not-so-deep shelf with open shelves below it. I’ve gone vertical on the counters – for the silverware, we found a high-quality Ikea (I know…) Pax closet jewelry box (which matches the Swedish Designs skillet rack)
    as seen here but in the lighter color:

    That sits on the counter, the microwave sits on top of that, and the toaster oven sits atop the microwave 🙂

    I’d been storing my pots and pans under the counter in a jumbled up mess on the shelf. (There’s a white linen curtain I can pull across to hide it.) Recently though, my mum insisted I get rid of all my scratched skillets due to the fear of future Alzheimer’s. (She’s perfectly healthy; she just read about it.) She bought me a new set of pans. I don’t want to stack them inside of each other. Hence the quest for the plate rack – since it would be wonderful to store them on the counter in something that isn’t ugly and toxic plastic!!!

    This is already rather long, so please please tell me that spares me from having to go into my love life… I just finished my PhD and am job hunting in this lovely economy. I do figure it’s time to put some effort/time that direction….as soon as I get my pans organized 😉

    -Alyson

    Like

  4. Alyson permalink
    May 22, 2010 11:12 pm

    Oops, I just wrote all that, and I live in the SF Bay area…not Seattle – so I guess I can’t compete for the free skillet rack. I do come to Seattle once a year for a conference – does that count? I would think it likely doesn’t but oh well, it was fun anyway. 🙂

    Like

  5. May 23, 2010 8:39 am

    Alyson!

    That is quite a story. I wish you lived here so we could meet and I could help you solve your space issues as well as prepare for maximum mate attraction! It sounds like a great challenge. You are on the right track with using your vertical space.

    I do offer virtual consulting now, so if you do wish to have a chat, that is available to you. 🙂

    Tell you what…if you are the winning entry for the rack, and you would pay the shipping costs, I would gladly send it to you.

    SF is near and dear to my heart…I grew up in Napa and spent many hours ripping up the SF dance floors in my teen and early college years!

    Blessings,
    Amy

    Like

  6. May 23, 2010 11:33 pm

    Space is really an issue for me in my house. I wish I had more space for my stuffs. I somehow think and see my place as a cluttered place already. I need help in making my things more organized and neat. the products you shared would look good in my house if I just had the right amount of space.

    Like

  7. May 24, 2010 6:07 am

    Thank you for your response, and for being transparent and open about your space. It can be hard to talk about or admit, especially for those of us in the design industry already, as we can feel like we are supposed to be the shining example of all things perfect and organized in design.

    When we have small spaces, we need to utilize our vertical space…go up. Are you in Venice or just repping the company that happens to be in Venice? It’s lovely down there!

    Which item did you have your eye on that you would like if you had just the right amount of space? And, if we could get you to that place, do you want it? 🙂

    Blessings,
    Amy

    Like

  8. May 27, 2010 8:40 am

    I love them all, but especially the little blue vase. So cute! And I’m all about color.

    My biggest challenge is a long hallway. I HATE hallways, and would love to do something really sensational in mine which has three rooms off of it.

    Let’s see, relating this to my love life…boy I’m blank on that one! Maybe it’s just too early in the morning for me to be thinking about that topic, LOL!

    Like

  9. May 27, 2010 5:10 pm

    I LOVE hallways! Hallways are PRIME real estate for themed galleries and treasured objects.

    I’ve got you in the running for the blue vase!

    Like

  10. May 27, 2010 5:27 pm

    Thanks for putting me in line Amy! As for hallways, my favorite house ever was one with literally no hallways. Every single inch of the house was usable space. In my particular case, I’m thinking of something on the ceiling, like multicolored silks, ribbons, floating fabric, something totally unexpected and out of the box like the rest of our house! No pictures or shelves or anything you would EXPECT to see. After all, I’ve got a silk tree with paper leaves cut from magazines, an art piece which really is a piece of paper that was wrapped around a table to protect it in the box, and other touches few others would dare, LOL. If you follow the blog GreenMyDecor, you can see what I’m talking about. She showcased our LR http://www.greenyourdecor.com/?s=lynn+colwell

    Like

  11. May 28, 2010 7:51 am

    I love those ideas Lynn, and your home space! Treasured objects don’t have to go on shelves, that’s for sure, and the fabric ideas sound great. I saw a living room with floating fabric across the entire ceiling! And then they had this canopy that graced the ceiling in another area. Wow!

    Thinking outside of the box is so powerful. I have these great pillow covers of woven orange and red yarns that began unraveling. I have begun dismanteling them…stitch by stitch, woven yarn by yarn. These are my zen moments.

    As I’ve been doing this, I discovered that I could actually keep part of the cover half in tact, pull out just the loose ones and end up with a nice fringed table top decor piece!

    I also will have some nice red fabric from the liner and two red zippers to do something with in addition to the huge pile of beautiful yarn, part of which is going to be made into hair falls for myself and my housemate! Costumey goodness, we call it!

    Like

  12. May 28, 2010 10:31 am

    Love the way you think–but you already know that, LOL!

    Like

  13. June 1, 2010 11:56 pm

    Well Amy, I may need Cordless phone ‘ Model LS6117 with caller ID’ . My old phone is in terrible condition and the irritating gizzling sound quality is making my life hell. Can I expect good voice clarity in this set ? Mail me your feedback. I will be waiting for your reply.

    Like

  14. June 3, 2010 6:06 pm

    It’s a decent phone. Not great if you have any hearing issues but a good phone if you don’t. No gizzling 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

